Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.


04/07/2022 @ 09:00 09/07/2022 @ 18:00 Europe/Toulouse

UPDATE: Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, Cool Stars 21 was postponed to July 4 – 9, 2022!

The “Cambridge Workshops of Cool Stars, Stellar Systems and the Sun” are held biennially and have evolved to be the premier conference series for cool star research.

The next edition of the conference series “Cool Stars, Stellar Systems and the Sun” (CS 21) will be held in Toulouse from June 22 to 26, 2020 July 4 – 9, 2022, 40 years after its first edition in Cambridge (USA). This first edition was shortly followed that same year by a workshop on “Solar Phenomena in Stars and Stellar Systems” that took place in the southern French countryside, in a small village called Bonas. Both meetings are often considered as the starting point of this exceptionally successful conference series, where approximately 400 international experts in Low-Mass Stars, Solar Physics, and Exoplanets meet every other year to exchange ideas in a cross-disciplinary and friendly environment. Bonas is certainly not adapted anymore to host what became a major conference, but we will have CS 21 a stone throw away from there in Toulouse, where attendees will enjoy a certain lifestyle that – fortunately – has not change over the last forty years!

For more information, visit the event’s web page at


To contact the SOC or LOC write to:

  • Silvia Alencar – Federal University of Minas Gerais
  • Myriam Benisty – Institut de Planétologie et d’Astrophysique de Grenoble
  • Jérôme Bouvier (SOC co-chair) – Institut de Planétologie et d’Astrophysique de Grenoble
  • Allan Sacha Brun (SOC chair) – CEA Saclay
  • Corinne Charbonnel – Geneva Observatory
  • Marc DeRosa – Lockheed Martin Solar and Astrophysics Laboratory
  • Andrea Dupree – Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
  • Luca Fossati – Austrian Academy of Sciences
  • Laurent Gizon – Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research
  • Gregory Herczeg – KIAA / Peking University
  • Lynne Hillenbrand – California Institute of Technology
  • Miho Janvier – IAS / University of Paris-Sud
  • Moira Jardine – University of Saint Andrews
  • Carme Jordi – University of Barcelona
  • Elena Khomenko – Instituto de Astrofísica de Canarias
  • Heidi Korhonen – European Southern Observatory
  • Ágnes Kóspál – Konkoly Observatory
  • Sean Matt – University of Exeter
  • Pascal Petit (LOC chair) – Institut de Recherche en Astrophysique et Planétologie
  • Sofia Randich – INAF / Arcetri Astrophysical Observatory
  • Rachael Roettenbacher – Yale University
  • Alexis Rouillard – Institut de Recherche en Astrophysique et Planétologie
  • Klaus Strassmeier – Leibniz-Institut für Astrophysik Potsdam
  • Takeru Suzuki – University of Tokyo
  • Adriana Valio – Mackenzie Presbyterian University
  • Scott Wolk – Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics